Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Skip to main content
close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.
Image for event: Better Than Therapy Book Club

Better Than Therapy Book Club

Tom Lake by Ann Patchett

2024-05-29 14:00:00 2024-05-29 15:30:00 America/Chicago Better Than Therapy Book Club Looking for a fun way to enjoy books and meet new people? Join us in the Better Than Therapy Book Club which meets on the last Wednesday of every month at 2 p.m. in our Boardroom. Homewood Public Library - Boardroom

Wednesday, May 29
2:00pm - 3:30pm

Add to Calendar 2024-05-29 14:00:00 2024-05-29 15:30:00 America/Chicago Better Than Therapy Book Club Looking for a fun way to enjoy books and meet new people? Join us in the Better Than Therapy Book Club which meets on the last Wednesday of every month at 2 p.m. in our Boardroom. Homewood Public Library - Boardroom

Looking for a fun way to enjoy books and meet new people? Join us in the Better Than Therapy Book Club which meets on the last Wednesday of every month at 2 p.m. in our Boardroom.

Join us for Ann Patchett’s latest title Tom Lake.  In this beautiful and moving novel about family, love, and growing up, Ann Patchett once again proves herself one of America’s finest writers. In the spring of 2020, Lara’s three daughters return to the family's orchard in Northern Michigan. While picking cherries, they beg their mother to tell them the story of Peter Duke, a famous actor with whom she shared both a stage and a romance years before at a theater company called Tom Lake. As Lara recalls the past, her daughters examine their own lives and relationship with their mother, and are forced to reconsider the world and everything they thought they knew.

AGE GROUP: | Adults |

EVENT TYPE: | Book Groups | Adult Events |

TAGS: | Discussion Group | Book Group | Adults |

Homewood Public Library

info@homewoodpubliclibrary.org
Phone: 205-332-6600

Hours
We're closed Wednesday June 19 due to The library is closed for Juneteenth.
Mon, Jun 17 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Jun 18 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Jun 19 Closed
(The library is closed for Juneteenth. )
Thu, Jun 20 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Fri, Jun 21 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Jun 22 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Jun 23 2:00PM to 6:00PM

Our Library

Founded in 1941, the award-winning Homewood Public Library offers books, movies, music and lots of great programming for all ages. We also have fantastic online resources, including databases, ebooks, and streaming media.

Upcoming Events

Sun, Jun 23, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Room 109

Mon, Jun 24, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
HPL Virtual Room

Mon, Jun 24, 3:30pm - 4:15pm
Large Auditorium

Mon, Jun 24, 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Room 102

Tue, Jun 25, 9:30am - 10:00am
Large Auditorium

Tue, Jun 25, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Round Auditorium

Tue, Jun 25, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Jun 25, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
HPL Virtual Room

Tue, Jun 25, 5:00pm - 6:30pm
Boardroom

Tue, Jun 25, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Room 108
This event is full

Wed, Jun 26, 10:30am - 11:00am
Round Auditorium

Wed, Jun 26, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
Boardroom

Wed, Jun 26, 2:30pm - 4:00pm
Admin Virtual Room,Computer Training Lab

Wed, Jun 26, 3:00pm - 6:00pm
Large Auditorium

Wed, Jun 26, 3:30pm - 5:30pm
Room 102

Wed, Jun 26, 3:30pm - 4:15pm
Round Auditorium

Thu, Jun 27, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Room 101

Thu, Jun 27, 6:00pm - 8:30pm
Room 102

Thu, Jun 27, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Large Auditorium

Fri, Jun 28, 3:00pm - 4:30pm
Room 109
This event is full

Sun, Jun 30, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Room 109

Mon, Jul 01, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
HPL Virtual Room

Mon, Jul 01, 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Room 102
This event is full

Tue, Jul 02, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
HPL Virtual Room
This event is full

Wed, Jul 03, 10:30am - 11:00am
Round Auditorium

Thu, Jul 04, All day
Boardroom,Computer Training Lab,Room 100,Room 101,Room 102,Room 106,Room 108,Room 109,Room 110,Room 116,Round Auditorium,Large Auditorium

Sat, Jul 06, 10:30am - 11:00am
Round Auditorium

Sat, Jul 06, 11:00am - 12:30pm
Room 109
This event is full

Sun, Jul 07, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Room 102
This event is full

Mon, Jul 08, 10:30am - 11:00am
Round Auditorium

Mon, Jul 08, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
HPL Virtual Room

Mon, Jul 08, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Room 109

Mon, Jul 08, 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Room 102

Tue, Jul 09, 9:30am - 10:00am
Large Auditorium

Tue, Jul 09, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Jul 09, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
HPL Virtual Room
This event is full

Tue, Jul 09, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
Boardroom

Tue, Jul 09, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Room 108
This event is full

Tue, Jul 09, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Boardroom

Wed, Jul 10, 10:30am - 11:00am
Round Auditorium

Wed, Jul 10, 3:00pm - 6:00pm
Large Auditorium

Wed, Jul 10, 3:30pm - 5:30pm
Room 102

Thu, Jul 11, 3:30pm - 4:15pm
Large Auditorium

Thu, Jul 11, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Round Auditorium
This event is full

Thu, Jul 11, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Room 109

Thu, Jul 11, 6:00pm - 8:30pm
Room 101

Thu, Jul 11, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Large Auditorium

Fri, Jul 12, 3:00pm - 4:30pm
Room 109
This event is full

Sat, Jul 13, 3:00pm - 4:30pm
Large Auditorium

Sun, Jul 14, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Round Auditorium

Mon, Jul 15, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
HPL Virtual Room

Mon, Jul 15, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Room 102
This event is full

Tue, Jul 16, 9:25am - 10:00am

Tue, Jul 16, 11:00am - 11:30am
Large Auditorium

Tue, Jul 16, 12:00pm - 1:00pm
Room 116

Tue, Jul 16, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Round Auditorium

Tue, Jul 16, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
HPL Virtual Room
This event is full

Tue, Jul 16, 5:00pm - 6:30pm
Boardroom

Tue, Jul 16, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Room 108

Wed, Jul 17, 10:30am - 11:00am
Round Auditorium

Wed, Jul 17, 2:30pm - 4:00pm
Admin Virtual Room,Computer Training Lab

Thu, Jul 18, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Room 110

Thu, Jul 18, 6:00pm - 8:30pm
Room 101

Thu, Jul 18, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Room 109
This event is full

Fri, Jul 19, 11:00am - 1:00pm
Room 109

Fri, Jul 19, 12:00pm - 1:00pm
Boardroom

Sat, Jul 20, 10:30am - 11:00am
Round Auditorium

Sun, Jul 21, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Room 102
This event is full

Mon, Jul 22, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
HPL Virtual Room

Mon, Jul 22, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Room 101

Mon, Jul 22, 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Room 102

Tue, Jul 23, 9:30am - 10:00am
Large Auditorium

Tue, Jul 23, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Jul 23, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Round Auditorium

Tue, Jul 23, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
HPL Virtual Room
This event is full

Tue, Jul 23, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Room 108